🔍 Read the full analysis: AI Pricing In Flux? How Grok Costs And OpenAI’s Rules May Affect You on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Prime made for students and young adults
- Fast, free delivery for dorm and study essentials
- Prime Video and Amazon Music included
- Member-only deals
TL;DR
On Nov. 1, 2026, Elon Musk said the cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue, without giving figures or announcing a specific change. During the same week, OpenAI described limits on paid accounts linked to a device or payment card and said ChatGPT and Codex allowances will be shared from December. The developments point to more metering around heavy AI use, but they do not establish that flat-price subscriptions are ending.
Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” while OpenAI described new restrictions on paid ChatGPT accounts and a shared usage allowance for ChatGPT and Codex beginning in December. The changes matter to subscribers and businesses because they show how providers are managing expensive, variable AI use, but Musk did not announce a particular price or limit change.
Musk’s statement came in response to an X user asking for a Grok Bot reset and saying users had reported running out of usage quickly that week. Musk replied: “The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.” He offered no cost, revenue or margin figures and did not say whether xAI had changed the bot’s allowance, pricing or reset schedule.
The report says Grok Bot is an agent that can work on tasks such as research, writing and browsing, rather than only responding to individual chat prompts. According to xAI’s pricing information cited in the source, access is included in certain paid X plans, with usage drawn from a shared weekly pool that also covers other services. xAI describes consumption in terms of agent steps and tokens; the amount used varies by task and the effort it requires.
OpenAI’s help information says paid accounts are subject to limits on how many subscriptions can be associated with one device or payment card. The source identifies Go, Plus and Pro plans as covered, but says OpenAI does not publish a numerical threshold. OpenAI also says Plus, Pro and Business subscribers will draw from one allowance across ChatGPT and Codex from December, measured in tokens. The source says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside that allowance.
Infographic 01 · One week, four moves
More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked
In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset
OpenAI gives more on top plans
Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.
Limits per card and per device
ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.
One meter from December
Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.
Musk: Grok Bot cost too much
One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.
Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.
Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
What Usage Limits Mean for Subscribers
These developments make the distinction between a fixed subscription price and unlimited consumption more visible. A monthly plan can offer access at a predictable price while still placing boundaries on how much agent work or other resource-intensive use a subscriber can do. For users, that can affect when they hit a limit and whether an upgrade or additional usage is worth paying for.
For businesses, a shared allowance across products can make usage harder to track if teams treat every AI task as equivalent. The source points to differences in token costs across models and to agents that may run for longer than a typical chat exchange. That means a seat price may not by itself describe the cost of a workflow. Organizations may need to ask providers for allowance rules, overage terms and usage reporting before relying on a plan for sustained workloads.
Still, the available details do not show that AI subscriptions as a whole are ending or that every provider will adopt the same approach. Musk’s post addresses Grok Bot’s economics; OpenAI’s changes concern its own accounts and product allowances. The broader implication is a move toward clearer limits and metering, not proof of an industry-wide pricing shift.
Popular right now

Vitamix Propel Series 510 Professional-Grade Blender, 3 Programs, Black

Jura E6 Automatic Espresso Machine, Piano Black (15622)

Shark PowerDetect Corded Stick Vacuum with HEPA Filtration, Purple (HZ4001AMZ)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Recent Changes at OpenAI and xAI
The source places Musk’s post against the history of high-priced AI subscriptions. It says OpenAI launched a $200-per-month ChatGPT plan in December 2024 with “unlimited access” to its best models. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that OpenAI was losing money on Pro subscriptions because users used them more than expected. That earlier comment is relevant background, but it does not establish the economics of current plans.
OpenAI also made changes to allowance levels during the week before Musk’s post. On Oct. 29, according to the company’s release notes as summarized by the source, it doubled the Work and Codex allowance for Pro 100 and Pro 500 and cancelled a planned reduction for Pro 200. A product executive separately described broader limit increases on X; the source notes that the official release notes state the narrower changes. The same week’s developments therefore included both higher allowances for some plans and tighter account-sharing rules.
xAI launched its X Subscription on Oct. 12, 2026, according to the source. Its pricing page lists Grok Bot among the services included in some paid tiers, with access drawing on a shared weekly pool. Those details help explain why an agent’s costs may differ from ordinary chat, but they do not reveal xAI’s actual operating expenses or the financial performance of the subscription.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”
— Elon Musk, in a reply on X on Nov. 1, 2026
What the Cost Warning Does Not Explain
Musk’s post does not disclose how much Grok Bot costs to serve, how much revenue it generates, or what level of use prompted the comment. It also does not say whether xAI changed usage pools, reset rules or subscription prices. The word “was” has been read by some outlets as suggesting that a cost adjustment already took place, but the source says Musk did not state that.
The source also mentions reports of a post from Grok’s official account attributing adjusted allocations to serving costs and referring to a separate dashboard issue. Its author says they could not locate that post, so those details remain reported rather than independently confirmed here. No numerical threshold for OpenAI’s device or card restrictions is provided in the source, and the exact operation of the shared allowance may require further clarification from the company.
Watch for Published Allowance Rules
The next stated milestone is December 2026, when OpenAI says the shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance will take effect for Plus, Pro and Business plans. Subscribers will need the company’s final product guidance to see how the token-based pool is displayed, how usage is counted and what happens when it is exhausted.
For xAI, the key unanswered questions are whether Grok Bot’s weekly pool or subscription terms have changed and whether the company will publish more detail about the costs Musk cited. Until either provider gives more specific information, users can check their plan’s usage page and businesses can request written terms covering limits, resets and any additional charges.
Key Questions
Did Musk announce a Grok Bot price increase?
No price increase was announced in the statement described in the source. Musk cited high serving costs but gave no pricing, allowance or reset changes.
What is changing for ChatGPT and Codex?
OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business users will share one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex from December 2026. The source says unlimited “Instant” chats remain outside that meter.
Does OpenAI publish the device or payment-card limit?
The source says OpenAI’s help page describes limits on paid subscriptions associated with a device or card but does not give a numerical threshold.
Are AI subscriptions becoming pay-as-you-go?
The developments do not establish that. They show usage limits and shared allowances within paid plans, not a confirmed industry-wide move away from monthly subscriptions.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
